La Bourboule

A bit of history…

Before the mid-14th century, La Bourboule, which owes its name to the celtic god, “Borvo” (god of the springs) was just a little village: les Bains de Murat-le-Quaire. It became a town in its own right in 1875. But its origins go back way further, since the start of its thermal activity goes back to the Gallo-Roman era.

More definitely, around 1450 the first bathhouse, with its rustic wooden bathtubs, was built at the foot of the granite knoll, the “Roche des fées.”

The resort’s reputation began in 1814, with the construction of the first thermal establishment. 1854 was a decisive year, thanks to the discovery of the waters’ thermal properties: everyone then dreamt of harnessing their spring, and a veritable war of the wells began, before resulting in the construction of the Choussy establishment in 1872. In 1877, “Les Grands Thermes” was opened. Big name guests were then common at the resort: the Queen of Romania, Buster Keaton, King Farouk of Egypt, Sacha Guitry…

Découverte du patrimoine architectural

Hôtel de ville 

This former Casino des Thermes (1891) also known as the Cariatides, in reference to the Greek goddesses who are holding up the balcony on the façade, is home to the Mayor’s office, the Tourist Office, the Post Office, and the Theatre. It is characterized by its Italianate towers and a two-tone tile roof. Inside, the main stairway, made of cast iron, rests on a complex set of pillars made of trachyandesite and basket-handle arches. The pediments of the doors on the second floor landing, very ornate, are topped by a set of overdoors painted on canvas in 1893.

l'hôtel de ville la Bourboule

The Casino 

This majestic building is the result of several construction campaigns. The left wing (the oldest part) dates from 1892. The extension work began in 1928: symmetry is respected, a balcony resting on columns adds to the length, the elevations are decorated with gold embellished mosaics with floral motifs.

The current slot-machine room is the best conserved original room: stucco decors, column capitals, pilasters…representing motifs inspired by the 17th century. In the grand hall, two cupolas on pendentives cover the significant volume of the entryway and the mezzanine. In the art deco style, the geometric decor in places is reminiscent of oriental calligraphy.

Boulevard Georges Clemenceau 

This has always been the festive heart of the city: large esplanades, patios, facades that are sometimes art deco, sometimes neoclassical, sometimes a bit baroque; that’s the eclectic style specific to spa towns, which borrows from every era (many villas are a testament to this). The Hôtel de l’Etablissement and the Résidence des Ambassadeurs which cover and enclose the avenue have the same characteristics : turrets and watchtowers in the troubadour style. The music kiosk rules over the centre of Joffre square. Opposite, you can admire the facade of the former Rozier pastry shop (1922), covered with mosaics in blues, ochre, and whites (motifs on the first floor to the glory of water, repetitive geometric figures on the ground floor) as well as a superb loggia, and listed on the supplemental inventory of Historical Monuments.

Eglise Saint Joseph 

Built between 1885 and 1888 using white lava agglomerated with various volcanic materials, it is reminiscent of the style of the Roman churches of Auvergne (magnificent capitals with foliage, figures, or histories in polychromatic pastel tones).

Eglise Saint-Joseph de La Bourboule

Explore the city

Guided tour of the city

A tour to discover the city’s architectural and thermal heritage.
Curiosities, history, and anecdotes about the resort.

Little train tour

This tour of the city will introduce you to the Casino, the Boulevard Clémenceau, and the banks of the Dordogne.

Visite en petit train de La Bourboule

La Bourboule, the more natural family resort

Famille Plus

This is a national label. It is intended to increase the prestige of destinations that have initiated a global approach in favor of welcoming families.


Services for families

Baby changing: changing tables in the restrooms in City Hall and Fenestre park.

Meeting points in the city of La Bourboule.

Equipment and care items for children: Simply Market, Boulevard des Vernières, UTILE, Quai Féron, SPAR, 145 Place du Souvenir, INTERMARCHE, Avenue Maréchal Leclerc and pharmacies.

Baby equipment rental (baby carriers, strollers, high chairs, cribs).).

Ski equipment rental for kids.

Kids area (table, benches, colouring) at the La Bourboule tourist office.


services famille plus La Bourboule

Information for families

Le Marmotte Mag

Free newspaper for kids, available at the tourist office.

Clear display

of useful numbers, activities for families, visible from outside.

In the Bienvenue Sancy welcome guide available at the tourist office when you arrive

specific pages for families summarising the whole offering, top tips, and essential information, restaurants, or Famille Plus labelled activities.


Services-familles-plus-la-bourboule

The cross-country skiing fee

is free for children under -6.
Advantage for families, both parents only pay the fee for the eldest of their children (e.g., if there are 2 parents + 5 kids, only the parents and the first child pay, the four others are free).

Halte garderie Les Gribouilles day nursery

Children aged 2 months to 4 years old
Tel: 04 73 81 00 68

Fenestre park recreation centre  

Children aged 4 to 12 years old
Tel: 04 73 81 13 50 – 04 73 81 31 00


Le parc fenestre de la Bourboule

Activities to experience as a family

Specific activities and theme weeks

for families are held during the Summer and Winter seasons, and they are easily identifiable by the Famille Plus symbol.
In the tourist office, you will find a blackboard announcing the family activity or information of the day.


station thermale La Bourboule

Facebook Comments
© Copyright - Camping Les Vernières - La Bourboule - Réalisation www.bcome.fr

La bourboule

Un peu d’histoire …

Avant le milieu du XIVe siècle, La Bourboule, qui doit son nom au Dieu celte « Borvo » (dieu des sources) n’était qu’un petit village : les Bains de Murat-le-Quaire. Elle est devenue une commune à part entière en 1875. Mais ses origines sont beaucoup plus anciennes, puisque le début de son activité thermale remonterait à l’époque gallo-romaine.

Plus sûrement c’est vers 1450 que fut installé, au pied du mamelon granitique de la « Roche des fées » la première Maison des Bains et ses rustiques baignoires de bois.

La notoriété de la station commença en 1814 avec la construction du premier établissement thermal. 1854 est une année déterminante grâce à la découverte des propriétés thermales des eaux : chacun rêve alors de capter « sa source », et une véritable « guerre des puits » s’instaure avant d’aboutir en 1872 à la construction de l’établissement Choussy. En 1877, on inaugure l’établissement « Les Grands Thermes ». Des hôtes de marque fréquentent alors la station : la Reine de Roumanie, Buster Keaton, le Roi Faruk, Sacha Guitry…

Découverte du patrimoine architectural

L’Hôtel de ville 

Cet ancien casino des Thermes (1891) dit des Cariatides, en référence aux déesses grecques qui portent le balcon de la façade, abrite la Mairie, l’Office de Tourisme, la Poste et le Théâtre. Il se caractérise par des tours à l’italienne et une couverture en tuiles bicolores. A l’intérieur, l’escalier d’honneur, en fonte, repose sur un jeu complexe de piliers en trachy-andésite et d’arcs en anse de panier. Les frontons des portes du palier de l’étage, très ornés, sont surmontés d’un ensemble de dessus de portes peints sur toile de 1893.

l'hôtel de ville la Bourboule

Le Casino 

Cet édifice majestueux est le résultat de plusieurs campagnes de construction. L’aile gauche (partie la plus ancienne) date de 1892. Les travaux d’extension commencent en 1928 : la symétrie est respectée, un balcon qui repose sur des colonnes s’ajoute sur toute la longueur, les élévations sont décorées de mosaïques rehaussées d’or à motifs floraux.

L’actuelle salle des machines à sous est la pièce d’origine la mieux conservée : décors stuqués, chapiteaux de colonnes, pilastres …représentant des motifs d’inspiration du XVIIème siècle. Dans le grand hall, deux coupoles sur pendentif couvrent l’important volume de l’entrée et de la mezzanine. De style art déco, le décor géométrique rappelle par endroit une calligraphie orientale.

Le Boulevard Georges Clemenceau 

Il a toujours été le cœur festif de la ville : larges esplanades, terrasses, façades tantôt art déco, tantôt néo-classiques, parfois un peu baroques ; c’est le style éclectique propre aux villes thermales, qui emprunte à toutes les époques (de nombreuses villas en sont le témoin). L’Hôtel de l’Etablissement et la Résidence des Ambassadeurs qui ouvrent et ferment l’avenue présentent les mêmes caractéristiques : tourelles et échauguettes de style troubadour. Le kiosque à musique trône au centre du square Joffre. En face, vous admirerez la façade de l’ancienne pâtisserie Rozier (1922) couverte de mosaïques bleues, ocre et blanches (motifs du 1e étage à la gloire de l’eau, figures géométriques répétitives au rez-de-chaussée) ainsi qu´une superbe loggia et inscrite à l’inventaire supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques.

L’église Saint Joseph 

Construite entre 1885 et 1888 en lave blanche agglomérée de différents matériaux volcaniques, elle rappelle le style des églises romanes d’Auvergne  (magnifiques chapiteaux feuillagés, figurés ou historiés aux tons polychromes pastels).

Eglise Saint-Joseph de La Bourboule

Découverte de la ville

Visite guidée de la ville

Visite à la découverte du patrimoine architectural et thermal.
Curiosités, histoire et les anecdotes liées à la station.

Visite en petit train

Cette visite de la ville vous permettra de découvrir le Casino, le boulevard Clémenceau, les rives de la Dordogne.

Visite en petit train de La Bourboule

La Bourboule, station Famille Plus Nature

Famille Plus

C’est un label national. Il est destiné à valoriser les destinations ayant engagé une démarche globale en faveur de l’accueil des familles.

Des services pour les familles

Pour changer bébé : tables à langer dans les WC de la mairie et au parc fenestre.

Points rencontres dans la ville de la Bourboule.

Matériel et articles de puériculture pour enfants : Simply Market, bd des Vernières, UTILE, quai Féron, SPAR, 145 place du Souvenir, INTERMARCHE, avenue Maréchal Leclerc et les pharmacies.

Location matériel bébé (porte-bébé, poussette, chaise-haute, lit bébé).

Location de matériel de ski pour les enfants.

Coin enfant (table, bancs, coloriage) à l’office du tourisme de la Bourboule.

Des informations pour les familles

Le Marmotte Mag

Journal gratuit pour les enfants à retirer à l’office de tourisme.

Affichage clair

des n° utiles, des animations et des activités pour les familles, visible de l’extérieur.

Dans le guide Sancy Bienvenue disponible à l’office de tourisme dès votre arrivée

des pages spécifiques pour les familles résument toute l’offre, les bons plans et les informations essentielles, les restaurants ou les activités labellisés Famille Plus.

Les petits plus Familles Plus

La redevance ski de fond

est gratuite pour les enfants de -6 ans.
Avantage pour les familles, les 2 parents ne paient la redevance que pour l’ainé de leurs enfants (ex : si 2 parents + 5 enfants, seuls les 2 parents et le premier enfant paient, les 4 autres enfants ne paient pas).

Halte garderie Les Gribouilles

Enfants de 2 mois à 4 ans
tél : 04 73 81 00 68

Centre de loisirs Parc Fenestre

Enfants de 4 à 12 ans
tél : 04 73 81 13 50 – 04 73 81 31 00

Des animations à vivre en famille

Des animations spécifiques et des semaines thématiques

pour les familles sont mises en place pendant les saisons été et hiver, elles sont facilement identifiables grâce au picto Famille Plus.
Vous trouverez dans le bureau de tourisme une ardoise annonçant l’animation ou l’information famille du jour.